Time is fun when you are having flies

Ahh… With Beloved off to a long day at school and the networking meeting I planned to attend moved to a far-away location I don’t feel like going to, I’ve decided to spend some of my time writing a new blog post. It’s been too long.

Where did I leave you guys again?

Oh, right.. Work. Things are well, in that regard. Very, very well. I’m on the cusp of securing an assignment big enough that I will be able to start paying the rent and have enough left over for some health insurance. It likely won’t last forever, but I’ve been offered a little over five months duration, so it’s a very good start. It should also provide me with taxable income, which provides me with something to deduct tax from, which provides me with a reason to maybe spend some money on office furniture. this means that soon-ish I will no longer have to work while sitting on my bed.

Kermit the Frog is copyrighted by The Muppets Studio LLC (but original credit goes to Jim Henson, of course)

Last weekend we jetted off to the Pacific Northwest to attend a cousin’s wedding. It was quite the event. I don’t know about you folks, but I had never been to an actual black tie event before and I seem to be one of the few people  who does not enjoy playing ‘fancy dress’  every now and then. Still, despite my trepidations of the wardrobial persuasion (I wore pants, y’all, and lip gloss) it was a highly festive occasion. The bride looked lovely, the groom seems like a cool dude, the toasts were moving and it was lovely to talk to all of Beloved’s relatives. Also: whisky sours! And rain, which made me think of home.

The weather here in the Bay Area is.. funny. It’s October, but projected temperatures for this week are expected to hit the mid-twenties (in Celsius – I’m not fluent in Fahrenheit, sorry). It’s also been dry as dust, with one notable exemption on a Saturday morning. Thats when the local stadium flooded. I wonder if I’ll ever get tired of all the sunshine.

So far I’ve not felt any earthquakes. I hope it stays that way for a while because all our books came in and the bookshelves have not yet been secured to the walls. But: books! At last! Finally! A reunion of the paperbacked companions. Most of last week has been spent alphabetizing fiction and categorizing the non-fiction. We seem to have a strong overrepresentation of the letter H (Haldeman, Harrison, Heinlein, Herbert, Hobb) and of books pertaining to language. I’ve got about a box and a half of non-fiction left to sort, but everything else is in its place.

 

With the shipment of books also arrived our silverware (so now we eat like grown-ups again), the good kitchen knives (ah! slicing and dicing and chopping and throwing it all in a pan) and the single sketchbook I allowed myself to keep. So yesterday I went out and bought a mechanical pencil and an eraser. I look forward to spending some of my leisure away from the internet, because that has been hard, lately.

New project: Make plans for the holidays. We’ve been invited to go east for Christmas and it would be lovely if I got the tickets sorted before I take on the big work project.

Talk to you again soon, dear blog-pals. But first, let me scour your blogs for updates 🙂

6 Responses to “Time is fun when you are having flies”


  1. 1 Tania Elizabeth October 1, 2013 at 4:31 pm

    You alphabetize your books… I’m rather impressed! I don’t even have all my books in one place.

    A HUGE “yay” for that 5-month-long job! I’m so excited for you.

    A friend of mine got married this past weekend in the Pacific Northwest as well… her wedding was outside though and didn’t have a Plan B so everyone was just standing outside with umbrellas and raincoats. I hear it was quite the experience!

    • 2 thesmittenimmigrant October 1, 2013 at 4:48 pm

      Hahaha 😛 Yes, I do alphabetize. It used to be worse. I separated fiction an non-fiction, organized them by language and subject or genre and only then alphabetized them. Now I have fewer distinct and so have let go of a lot of the internal organization.

      Still, there are cookbooks which are grouped, comics and coffee table / picture books and a spot for fiction and then there is non-fiction which has a separate section for computer books and one for language books and one big area for everything else, organized by subject.

      Where are all of your books? And how would you organize them if you had the chance? I always enjoy hearing about other people’s libraries..

      • 3 Tania Elizabeth October 1, 2013 at 5:13 pm

        Wow, that’s intense, lol…

        Mine are all over the place. The ones I’m currently reading are parked on the side table next to side of the bed I sleep on or on my Nook or the Kindle.

        During grad school my favorite professor didn’t use textbooks for our Marriage & Family Therapy, or Sexuality classes, instead we read books he had found useful through his career. Although I sold back most of my books I kept the ones for those classes. A couple of them are on the other side table in my room and the rest in a box in my closet.

        My cookbooks are spread out between my dresser and both kitchens in the house. Also on my dresser: a couple of books about handwriting and body language, my two favorite children’s books, and my college yearbooks.

        I also have a bunch of books in a drawer.

        If I were to have them all in one place I’d probably organize them by subject, but would keep each subject separate from each other (different bookshelves).

  2. 4 Boef October 9, 2013 at 10:37 am

    Ha. I used to organise all music alphabetically (sorry if I mispelled that. English, somehow, confuses me from time to time. Sometimes there never seems to be enough “l” and/or “s” in a word ;-)).
    I only organise when my concentration levels have dropped. It than gives me the security of (re-)finding a singer I want to hear. It makes me feel safe 😉

    • 5 thesmittenimmigrant October 22, 2013 at 6:28 am

      Don’t worry, you spelled that correctly

      I recognize the idea of organization as a soothing action, I find it comforting as well. What is your favourite singer, by the way?

      • 6 Boef January 8, 2014 at 11:02 am

        My favourite singer? That’s a hard one. I think it’s Tom Jones. I’m not really a die hard fan of the man, but boy, can he sing. His voice is bombastic, it’s colourful, it lives. If he sings a duet, the other singers have to do their best to “compete” with his voice. Otherwise he blows them away. I really enjoy some of his music. Not all songs (he recently made a cd with blues songs, which Dré enjoys a lot), but the happy songs like Sexbomb or Kiss (which is a cover of the song from Prince).

        What’s your favourite?


Leave a Reply

