The Smitten Entrepreneur

Picture by pumpkincat210 under a Creative Commons License.

By which I mean to say: I am now self-employed. Sole proprietor of my business. Embracing the American spirit of small business ownership and all that. Pioneering. Frontier mentality. *cough* Sorry 😛

Sure, it doesn’t fully solve the immediate lack of forty hours of revenue generating activities per week, but it makes me flexible, allowing me to jump on Craigslist gigs, work with my old employer and do it all within the letter of the law. Also: tax deductions. Useful in case I end up making money. Which I already did, a little, with the freelance work I talked about in earlier posts, but I needed a way to justify those funds to Uncle Sam’s tax folks. So here we are…

I built myself a website, had business cards printed and obtained a ‘home occupation permit’ (to allow me working from home) and a business license. Uhuh! I’m the real deal. Even snagged a signature from a big, burly fireman to certify that there are smoke detectors and a fire extinguisher. I’ve been networking with folks and am hoping to reel in some more assignments soon.

But Smitten Immigrant, what is it you actually do? 

Right.. I should probably mention that. The job title I invented for myself is ‘language professional’. Which means I offer services as an editor, proofreader, translator (between my native language and English) and (copy) writer. Stuff like doing linguistic quality assurance for software translations, translating user interface text, but also more traditional red pen circling of errant commas, missing capitals and ambiguous phrasing.  Possibly telling you to tone down the enthusiastic superlative language of your marketing pitch because in the ‘Old Country’  your exuberance just gives cause for cynicism.

Hey, hey can we see? Show us!

Err.. no. Well. Not on here. I have considered connecting this blog to my website, since it is a large collection of my personal language wrangling that people may like to see, but I have decided against it. This is my personal blog, where I do not want to proofread what I write. I don’t want to think about the commercial viability of my posts, nor wonder about whether things may be too personal for possible clients to read.

I’m not under the illusion that a dedicated sleuther would be unable to find both my website and this blog and connect the dots. It’s not a matter of deep importance that the two never be connected. But I don’t want to make this little corner of the web a marketing instrument, which is what would almost inevitably happen if I added it to my portfolio. I’m not interested in the ‘brand’  Smitten Immigrant. I don’t plan to become a marketing guru or even a professional blogger on a personal title (although I am not averse to writing blog posts for payment).

The big thing that looking at a wide variety of language jobs has taught me, is that I want to write your text for you, or my text for me, but not the other way around. I don’t know if that makes sense to people whose field of work is not closely related to the realms of marketing and or social media, but it makes sense to me. I’m a language professional, not an internet personality. I love my work because a good writer (and even more so a good editor and most so a good translator) is invisible. It’s not me you should want, it’s the words I stick together.

Imagine you would ask me to write something. A job application for instance, which needs a good mix of personal showcasing and high quality writing. As your hired wordsmith, I need to write you. Because they need to hire you (not me). And so I need to ‘be’ you, adding nothing but the linguistic quality that makes those HR people sigh with relief because that letter is such an effortless read.

Are you averse to accepting work form people who have found this blog?

Not at all. If you see me play with words  (which is really what I do here, at The Smitten Immigrant) and you like it, superfluous commas and all, then feel free to hit me up and ask me for my professional details. I’ll happily share. I just don’t want to encourage the process the other way around.

8 Responses to “The Smitten Entrepreneur”


  1. 1 Tania Elizabeth September 12, 2013 at 9:25 pm

    This is so exciting!!!! Congratulations. I’m so glad to hear you’re fitting right in and things are falling into place for you. That’s such a relief isn’t? Best of luck with everything 🙂

    • 2 thesmittenimmigrant October 1, 2013 at 4:35 pm

      Yeah, you’re right: it is a big relief. Even the idea of just being well-prepared to start making money helps a lot with the trepidation.

      And thanks for the congratulations!

  2. 3 Amanda September 15, 2013 at 7:47 am

    Congratulations! I hope your skin is feeling better? Maybe a cream with hydrocortisone could help, but I am not sure if you can get those at the pharmacy (though they have a lot of medications over the counter).

    • 4 thesmittenimmigrant October 1, 2013 at 4:40 pm

      My skin seems to be improving slowly. I’ve upped my moisturizing regimen and that seems to do a lot. If it gets worse again, I’ll probably go for over the counter creams the substance you mention. And yeah, they do seem to sell many drugs here that you would need a prescription for in the Old Counrty.. I even saw tooth-repair kits that were intended for home use. Weird!!

      Thanks for the conratulations. With you having your own business and Tania Elizabeth starting work on hers, it’s extra fun to join the ranks!

  3. 5 inge67 September 30, 2013 at 6:13 pm

    Hey smitten! Would like to know more about this….can you pm me?

    Inge

  4. 7 Anna October 1, 2013 at 12:17 am

    Wow that is really exciting! Your own business! One day, that is my dream – to have my own business, be my own boss. You are my inspiration.

    • 8 thesmittenimmigrant October 1, 2013 at 4:42 pm

      What type of business would you like to have Anna? I’m sure you currently have your hands full, but I am very curious as to what you would like to do later 🙂

      That’s a big compliment, by the way, Thank you for saying such kind things!


Leave a Reply

