Pictures of home!

Yup, I went and took a few pictures of our apartment again. This time with furniture in it. Because, you know.. what’s an apartment without beds and couches?

We’re still waiting for the books, although the shipping company told us that they’ve been cleared by customs this week. We should expect their arrival within the month. That’s why the bookshelves are still empty. Hope you enjoy seeing where I spend my time now:

Click the picture to click through to a little gallery. Ps. Pictures all by me.

10 Responses to “Pictures of home!”


  1. 1 Sheryl August 18, 2013 at 3:40 pm

    Those bookshelves are amazing. They’ll be even more amazing once full … but the design is so pretty. I want them for my books!

    Art print mugs are the best. One of my favourite things ever was a set of impressionist tea cups. Yours are super cute.

    • 2 thesmittenimmigrant August 21, 2013 at 5:04 pm

      Those bookshelves are wonderful indeed – ever since Ikea started stocking them, I wanted one. Now all we need is the books. (*fidget*) Do you think you’ll get yourself an expedit (or two!) once you’ve got yourself a new home?

      Impressionist tea cups sound like fun too. I can totally imagine a dainty cup with a seascape on it, so cute!

      With regards to these mugs – I encountered Laurel Burch’s prints first on some Paperblanks notebooks where I fell in love with them. Then, I saw he mugs and finally looked her up. It turns out she’s Californian and a very remarkable woman. Makes me even happier to keep her art around πŸ™‚

    • 4 thesmittenimmigrant August 21, 2013 at 5:05 pm

      Aw, thanks πŸ™‚ Im happy with how things are looking too. It’s colourful without appearing too crowded. Thanks for dropping by to say hi!

  2. 5 Daria August 20, 2013 at 2:36 pm

    Love it! I feel connected to you through our bookshelves, we have the same ones ❀ Don't you just love Ikea? πŸ˜‰

    • 6 thesmittenimmigrant August 21, 2013 at 5:07 pm

      If it wasn’t for Ikea, we’d still live in an empty place.. Seriously, they totally saved us. The biggest bonus of all is that Ikea has a webshop here – we never even needed to go to the store! It’s a miracle πŸ˜›

      Can I get a high five for being book shelf buddies?

      • 7 Daria August 27, 2013 at 7:49 pm

        *high five*

        OMG an Ikea webshop!? WANT! I also never want to have to go to the store again! πŸ˜€

  3. 8 Amanda August 21, 2013 at 3:11 pm

    I’m late here… but your apartment looks amazing. Love all the ethnic touches πŸ™‚ We also have the exact same bookshelf, I am in love with it! Also you had me drooling over cookies…

    • 9 thesmittenimmigrant August 21, 2013 at 5:26 pm

      You were on holiday and had better things to do than look at the internet, so hey, god for you! I hope you had a lovely time and feel refreshed.

      Thanks for the compliment!

      I’ve been trying to balance bringing in all these lovely vivid designs while avoiding careless buying of objects / prints / designs with deep cultural significance. I’m not sure I quite succeeded (elephants are certainly spiritual symbols, for instance), but I refused to buy anything that showed deities or scenes from stories. As to the serape-type blanket, I tried to figure out what different patterns meant and find a neutral one, but as far as I could tell, contemporary designs can be based on landscapes or the whim of the weaver, without relating to the more ancient uses. The history of the garment also seemed to indicate that pretty much everyone could / would wear one, so I felt it was ‘safe’ to bring one in.

      As to the cookies: you’re probably the most well-equipped person I know to ship up a batch of tasty treats yourself. Maybe use it for inspiration? πŸ™‚

  4. 10 iris August 30, 2013 at 2:23 pm

    Looking good! I, too, love documenting my apartment decorating in progress!

    Oh, and while Ikea is nice, never underestimate the power of craigslist…or of buying Ikea pieces on craigslist πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

