The Smitten Immigrant works!

That is: I found myself a first little freelance gig. It’s just for a few days, but hey, no complaints here. My first dollars in actually self-earned money in the US of A. Bring me a white picket fence – I’ve got to keep dreaming 😛

I’ve got plenty of other applications outstanding, but since it seems to be the local custom to only contact people that are being considered for employment, I’m not remotely sure how many of those are even being looked at. I’ll just keep sending out an application a day and see what comes back.

Photo by ste3ve, under a Creative Commons License

 

13 Responses to “The Smitten Immigrant works!”


  1. 1 Tania Elizabeth August 8, 2013 at 10:55 pm

    Congrats! I hope this opens the doors to something permanent 🙂

    • 2 thesmittenimmigrant August 17, 2013 at 1:34 am

      Aw, thanks 🙂 Ii’m not sure if this project will, but at least it gives me new experiences and gets me out into the world of workers, which is nice all around.

      It’s doing my mental state a ton of good!

  2. 3 Daria August 9, 2013 at 1:13 am

    Awesome! Congrats!

  3. 5 Sheryl August 9, 2013 at 1:13 am

    Congrats! I’m glad to hear that you’ve got some good energy rolling with the career. Especially after taking a break and moving so far it must be awesome to be back in the game.

    • 6 thesmittenimmigrant August 17, 2013 at 1:35 am

      It really is. I’m getting impatient that I’m not doing more, but really, finding something – anything – that pays in less than a month is pretty cool. I should count my blessings 🙂

  4. 7 Amanda August 9, 2013 at 8:18 am

    Oh yay congratulations. Also… that was fast!

    • 8 thesmittenimmigrant August 17, 2013 at 1:39 am

      I know right? It seems like I’ve been here so much longer, but really, it’s going incredibly fast. And thanks for the congratulations 🙂 I hope you’re having a great, carefree holiday!

  5. 9 Anna August 9, 2013 at 3:05 pm

    That’s great! And yes, that was really fast! Congratulations!

    • 10 thesmittenimmigrant August 17, 2013 at 1:42 am

      Thank you, Anna! I went through some of your blog history, by the way – it’s a lot of fun to read about your new house :).

  6. 11 fadinggender August 10, 2013 at 5:35 am

    Congrats! Don’t forget your TPS-reports.

    • 12 thesmittenimmigrant August 17, 2013 at 1:44 am

      Oh dear. That’s an Office Space reference, isnt it? That movie revolved entirely around schadenfreude, I remember.. Thank you for the congratulations, in any case 😀

      • 13 fadinggender August 20, 2013 at 8:00 pm

        Yes, Office Space.

        Work related: I now understand why you always say that translating is an actual profession. Our publisher asked me to check some translations and oh my deity of choice! I just stopped counting the grammatical and translating errors, the worst of it: I have only seen the table of contents.


Leave a Reply

