A roof

Some walls, a handful of windows and a smattering of doors.

A counter top, a bath tub and a thermostat.

A fridge, screen doors and carpet.

Blinds.

It’s where we live now. It is, for all intents and purposes, ‘home’. It’s a sweet place. Nothing special (other than that it’s an apartment in a safe area in the East Bay that is priced well below market rates and hence affordable, which is Pretty Bloody Rare), perhaps, but certainly not as bad as Craigslist and Padmapper and Better in Real Life’s Lauren’s posts about finding a new place had made me fear.

Frankly? I really like it. I like that we’ve effectively lost 45% of the square feet we previously inhabited. I like that its sort of blank and bland and that painting is not allowed. I like that I don’t have to worry about window dressing and floors.

I also really like that we only slept on the floor for one night before arranging for a bed. Because jet lag is bad enough when you do get sleep at night.

On to the meat of the matter: let’s have some pictures!

Click the photo to go to the gallery of pictures.

8 Responses to “A roof”


  1. 1 Daria July 18, 2013 at 7:11 am

    I love it, it looks so awesome!!!

    • 2 thesmittenimmigrant July 23, 2013 at 6:31 pm

      It is rather awesome πŸ™‚ We need a vacuum cleaner, though, because its currently dusty and awesome πŸ˜›

  2. 3 Amanda July 18, 2013 at 9:32 am

    Yaaay you have a home! And I am glad the adaptation is going well πŸ™‚ The kitchen is kind of nice, on the first photo it looked as if the cabinets were yellow and I got super excited. Good luck with everything! Did you enjoy ALL THE AVOCADOS yet?

    • 4 thesmittenimmigrant July 19, 2013 at 4:45 pm

      A yellow kitchen would have been adorable. Sentimental too, because (I don’t know if you remember), the kitchen in our previous house was yellow.

      This one is made of actual wood, though, which is nice too. I’ll need to buy some oil to maintain it.

      And yes, many avocados have been eaten already. I’m making ‘refried’ beans from scratch, today and will have those with avocado and brown rice tonight. Yum!!

  3. 5 Sheryl July 18, 2013 at 2:15 pm

    “I like that its sort of blank and bland and that painting is not allowed. I like that I don’t have to worry about window dressing and floors.”

    Sometimes that is such a relief in a place. I know the years in university that I was free to paint and put up blinds and everything were always a little more stressful because suddenly there was a certain amount of pressure to “make something of “the space, instead of just inhabit it and fill it with fun.

    • 6 thesmittenimmigrant July 19, 2013 at 4:47 pm

      Yup, you summarized that perfectly! Knowing that we’ll likely only stay here for a year or two means that it’s really nice to just focus on liveability and fun, not on designing The Home from scratch.

  4. 7 Theener July 19, 2013 at 2:20 am

    HOUSE!! Yaaaay, a place I can come visit. πŸ˜‰ ❀

    • 8 thesmittenimmigrant July 19, 2013 at 4:48 pm

      Totally! We’re expecting to get the guest bedroom set up soon. If you take your bike and start out west now, you’ll be here when we’re done πŸ™‚

      Miss you!


Leave a Reply

