The Alphabet Game

So Tania Elizabeth, owner of Varekai, invited me to participate in the latest little blogging game. And who am I to say no?

Here are my 26 choices, alphabetized:

A: Attached or Single: Attached, I suppose 🙂
B: Best Friends: A precious few. Maybe just the one, really, but I know of some people who really have my back, so I’m a lucky woman regardless.
C: Cake or Pie: count me a provincial European, but I still don’t know the difference. I’ll have appeltaart any day, though. It’s my favourite. The next best one is rijstevlaai.
D: Day of Choice: Sundays.
E: Essential Item: my laptop. Although I make a point of having unplugged holidays (and love them), I’m growing more dependent on the little box now that the rest of my life is in boxes. Must have cat pictures!
F: Favorite Color: purple
G: Gummy  Bears or Worms: worms, because the bers are just so tiny you need to eat six of them at a time.
H: Hometown: Suburbitown, Suburbia, pretty much. 70’s brick and concrete housing, labrador retrievers and kiddie bikes.
I: Favorite Indulgence: chocolate, cheese, whisky.
J: January or July: July, because it’s when all the other people leave and I can have a little space. Also, long, long evenings filled with light and barbecues.
K: Kids: Nope. It’s interesting to see how the people around me are starting to work towards becoming parents and how strong te desire for children can be. I’ve seen parental love up close and it is a magical force that I admire. Still, I consider myself child free and can be a little defensive about it if I feel that people don’t accept that.
L: Life Isn’t Complete Without: Travel. Walks. Books. Talks.
M: Marriage Date: November 25.
N: Number of Handbags: zero. I have a ratty messenger bag, affectionally called ‘The Magic Bag’ (because it contains everything and always has room for more). I should find a replacement soon.
O: Oranges or Apples: apples. They’re easy and so tasty.
P: Phobias: spiders. Things with too many legs that move too fast for their size.
Q: Quote: “If writings did not exist, what terrible depressions we should suffer.” Nagiko – The Pillow Book
R: Reason to Smile: dogs playing.
S: Season of Choice: spring – the first day you no longer need a coat.
T: Tag 5 People: Logeerbuik, Fading gender, USherewecome, Foxes in sockses, eh..
U: Unknown Fact About Me: I’m allergic to certain non-precious metals.
V: Vegetable: spinach. When lazy and alone my dinner just consist of heated frozen spinach with a little cream cheese and fine herbs.
W: Worst Habit: nervous fretting, overanalyzing, anxious pacing and other neurotic behavior.
X: X-ray or Ultrasound: only had the one X-ray in my life, to check for tuberculosis.
Y: Your Favorite Food: vegetarian burrito bowls, pulled chicken, home made vegetarian lasagna.
Z: Zodiac Sign: gemini / pig (water).

12 Responses to “The Alphabet Game”


  1. 1 Amanda July 3, 2013 at 10:38 am

    Rijstevlaai is super delicious. Why you love July made me smile…. “it’s when all the other people leave and I can have a little space.”
    I am so glad about your visa, I hope you are enjoying your last days in the low cuntries 🙂

    • 2 thesmittenimmigrant July 4, 2013 at 8:07 pm

      I totally am 🙂 And thank you so much for coming to our goodbye party and thank you so much for the lovely presents. It’s a litte basket of home..

  2. 3 Sheryl July 3, 2013 at 2:21 pm

    Being allergic to non-precious metals is no fun. It’s only in the last few years that I’ve been able to actually enjoy my pierced ears, after figuring out the few combinations that won’t make them go crazy.

    • 4 thesmittenimmigrant July 4, 2013 at 8:08 pm

      I hear you! As a kid, I could never figure out why my ears would swell and itch. These days I wear piercing jewelery, which works wonders for me. Which metals work for you?

  3. 5 Tania Elizabeth July 3, 2013 at 2:33 pm

    I’ve officially added two new recipes to my book! I’ll definitely have to try those 😀

  4. 8 fadinggender July 4, 2013 at 9:21 pm

    Oi! You’ve tagged me. I’m gonna put some effort in this over the weekend.

  5. 10 fadinggender July 4, 2013 at 9:39 pm

    About the cake vs. pie, I always make this distinction:

    A cake is something with an airy spunge base made from batter and often filled or covered with things like buttercream, chocolate ganache or jam. A pie is made from a rather firm or even crispy dough base and can be filled with both sweet and savory fillings like apple or lemon custard, sometimes covered with a dough lid. Both appeltaart and vlaai would be considered pie, whilst slagroomtaart is a cake,

    Although exceptions prove the rule. According to this a cheescake would be a pie instead of a cake.


Leave a Reply

