Civilization getting in the way of things

There are one or two blog posts that have been hiding up my sleeve for a week or so. They’re just not coming out right now. It’s not their fault. They’re not shy. It’s my fault.

You see, Beloved and I decided to get ourselves a copy of (Sid Meier’s) Civilization V. And from our living room ceiling hangs a beamer which is connected to the pc on which we installed the game. Our screen is seven feet wide and the couch in front of said screen is very comfy.

Hence, it is seriously, absolutely, totally The Most Important Thing right now to ensure that Russia reaches the space age before that asshole from the French empire, and to support the city state of Venice so that they remain our ally against the onslaught of the Ottomans.

I’m sure you understand, right? Right? Because if not, then I’m just about finished building my first nuclear sub 😀

6 Responses to “Civilization getting in the way of things”


  1. 1 Amanda May 16, 2013 at 7:53 am

    Oh this sounds like lots of fun, specially with your screen. It made me remember my dear father… who when I was 14 or so got the first copy of Civilization, installed it in our computer and got completely hooked (he always had a strong interest in politics, history, social sciences….).
    We’ll be here waiting for your posts. Have fun and try not to kill a lot of people on your quest to conquer the world.

    • 2 thesmittenimmigrant May 17, 2013 at 5:18 pm

      That sounds really sweet 🙂 Did you ever get to play, or was it really something that your dad just did for himself?

      The game has an a fair amount of depth – you can win victories through culture (by completing ‘policy branches’ as your population grows and you get more culture generating buildings and policies), through diplomacy (by winning over the city states to vote for you as leader of the United Nations), through science (be the first to set up enough scientific institutes that you can build a spaceship and launch it), through domination (conquer all the capitals of the large civilizations) or through a combination of all of the above.

      I try to play a nonviolent game, but it’s pretty hard. Even when being very nonconfrontational, you’ll be attacked for your resources at some point.

      • 3 Amanda May 21, 2013 at 8:48 am

        I think I tried playing once or twice, I think I have been turned down by my lack of patience, as all these developments take time. But I do remember the depth you talk about, one think that I did not forget is that you can get an easy start on the game and start winning by having a corrupted government, but then the people will try and overrun you, be against you. It is very interesting.

  2. 4 Sheryl May 18, 2013 at 12:45 am

    See, why can’t more video games be like that? I’m not much of a gamer but that is one thing I could totally get on board with.

    • 5 thesmittenimmigrant May 22, 2013 at 12:52 pm

      Have there been any games that you did enjoy playing? There are many different ‘flavours’ of games, but the most marketed ones are not always the ones with the most depth or narrative development.


  1. 1 Things I Love, Thursday (5.16.13) | Varekai Trackback on May 16, 2013 at 9:35 pm

Leave a Reply

