Cultural differences

On our way back from some governmental office, having just dealt with our red tape, Beloved and I decided to stop by a Starbucks to get coffee.

As I walked into the place, I stuck my hand down my shoulder bag to confirm the location of my wallet. Seeing as that I’d need it just a minute later, I kept my hand down my bag while walking up to the register. I ordered our drinks, pulled out my wallet, paid, stuck the wallet back, grabbed the two cups of caffeinated yumminess and walked back outside.

Beloved: “Hey.. don’t do that when we’re in America.”

Me: “Wut? Do not do what?”

Beloved: ” Walking into a store with your hand in your bag – don’t do that..”

Me: “Eh?”

Me (thinking): Of course! Like this, people can see where my wallet is and they may try to steal it..

Beloved: “..because it looks like you have a gun and may try to rob them.”

Me: “.. oh..”

2 Responses to “Cultural differences”


  1. 1 Sheryl April 22, 2013 at 3:47 pm

    In a similar situation I would always automatically just pull my wallet out and carry it into Starbucks in my hand. I’d never thought of that fact that it might be a little bit culturally ingrained.

    • 2 thesmittenimmigrant April 23, 2013 at 4:01 pm

      I’m sure these are often the things we don’t think about at all. It’s funny to note how such small things can indicate such significant differences, though šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

