Liebster award

I’m all excited! The sweet Amanda from Poppies and Ice-Cream nominated me for an award which encourages learning about small blogs. Also, it allows you to talk about yourself in a way that is fun, and who doesn’t love a little narcissism, right? Thank you, Amanda!

The award comes with a bunch of  ‘elevens’  you have to follow.

One: share eleven things about yourself.

Two: answer the eleven questions from the blogger who nominated you.

Three: nominate eleven small blogs.

Four: write eleven questions for the people you’ve nominated.

On to the random facts:

– I’m a chocolate purist. I really only want extra dark, unfilled chocolate. Combining fruit and chocolate is a waste, in my eyes. I won’t refuse filled chocolates (unless they contain fruit / or liquor), but really, just chocolate is where it’s at.

– I have the musical taste of a Southern-US, Irish-ancestored, 60-year old white dude. Meaning I listen to country, bluegrass, folk and (some) singer-song writers. Sure, I also like ska, punk rock and metal (and a little hiphop, jazz and classical), but on an average day it’s got to have a guitar and a banjo or a fiddle.

– I love Scotch. I mean whisky. Mostly Speyside and West-Highland ones, but I certainly also enjoy Islays  if they’re not too overwhelmingly peaty.

– I used to be terribly homesick. I was even homesick when on holiday with my parents. It got better when I started dating a guy who taught me the usefulness of alcohol. At the age of seventeen I finally found a way to get some sleep and not just lie awake in terror in a house that’s not my own.

– People tend to think I am a lesbian. I think this is great and will do nothing to disabuse people of the notion.

– I once had a job as a clown.

– I cannot resist of buying empty notebooks. At all times I have at least a handful lying around. Paperblanks are my kryptonite.

– I wrote my first poem at the age of six. I still believe it wasn’t half bad.

– I once owned a pair of pants in jungle-print in bright green with multi-coloured parrots on it.

– Socrates, Esmeralda, Phoebus, Innuendo, Frollo, Gringoire, Hong Kong and Nelson are all names of (deceased) pets of mine.

– As a kid in primary school, I occasionally published a newspaper. For one issue remember abducting a ladybug, then re-united it with its family  so as to have a cover story. Next, I typed out three identical four-page ‘newspapers’ on an old cast-iron type writer , which I then tried to sell for 5 cents a piece. I asked the paper back after people had read it.

Amanda’s questions:

1. Which is your favorite book?

Not fair! I cannot possibly name only one.

The last book I read that threw me on my intellectual ass was David Foster Wallace’s ‘Infinine Jest’. It was great to have a book that I really needed to ‘chew on’  to get through it.

A book that made me identify greatly with the protagonist is ‘The End of Mr. Y’, by Scarlett Thomas.

The book that made my cry more than any other was ‘Knock on any door’  by Motley Willard.

The book that I wrote the most about is ‘American Gods’ by Neil Gaiman.

The best romantic relationship portrayal ever (imho), you can find in the ‘Outlander’ series by Diane Gabaldon.

My favourite book about the relationship between language and reality  is ‘The Raw Shark Texts’ by Steven Hall.

2. What is your favorite place in the World?

Inside my head. I know that this is a cop-out answer, but it’s true. My favourite physical spaces are sunny roads that I walk on, quiet rooms with comfy chairs to read in and busy public spaces to watch people in. There is also an otherwise  unremarkable mountain top in Virginia (Unites States) that I love because it was the first time I was ever out of earshot of any fellow humans.

3. What makes you happy?

In random order: doing things well, making a difference to someone, having the luxury of time. And cuddles. Cuddles cannot be overestimated in their importance for my happiness.

4. If you could go anywhere in the World, where would that be?

It would always change because being under way gives you the luxury of time and it has sunny roads to walk on. I want to travel on the Peking Express and maybe follow the silk route and circle the Mediterranean. I’d love to travel the Oregon trail and follow the course of the Mississippi.

5. Do you have a job / are you happy with it?

Not right now. I had one until the end of last year, but I quit. The work I did made me happy, but brought no real perspective anymore. Now, not having a job makes me happy, because I get to do other things. After our move to the US, I will look for a job again. Right now I volunteer and I love it.

6.  What is your favorite food?

Soups, stews, chilies and home baked breads.

7. Can you maybe share a recipe? (or link to a favorite one?)

Harira..

8. What is your favorite song / band ever?

Maybe The Dubliners with ‘Black Velvet Band’. Or Dolly Parton’s ‘Jolene’.

9. And your favorite cartoon as a child?

:S I never really watched cartoons. I enjoyed the tv-series Flipper, though. And I am an eternal fan of McGyver, which I watched all the time as a kid.

10. What about your favorite movie?

As a kid? I don’t recall. I wasn’t much of a tv-watcher. These days it’s ‘The Pillow Book’ by Peter Greenaway.

11. What is your most vivid childhood memory? 

I think I was five years old. I decided that I was now grown-up and that I needed to stop sucking my thumb when I would go to sleep. I remember asking myself what I would keep myself busy with if I couldn’t sleep and deciding that I could tell myself stories instead. The practice of making up stories for myself helped me through many sleepless nights.

My nominees:

1 Fading Gender

2 Logeerbuik

3 Unexpected Moments

4 Foxes in Sockses

5 3Upadventures

6 Laura Stratford

7 Wee Hermione

8 Misshappnstance

9 A very happy accident

10 Crownless from Think about Kink

11 Sabrina from Think about Kink

Questions for the nominees:

1 What fantasy animal would you like as a pet and why?

2 What is your favourite fictional universe?

3 If you could design your own body from scratch (no humanoid form is necessary), what would you look like?

4 What is your favourite mode of transport?

5 Name a personal triumph that was totally insignificant in the larger scheme of things, but made you feel _so very good_.

6 What is your most unrealistic fear?

7 What is your opinion about the possibility of artificial intelligence as a vital element in future human society?

8 What kind of socks do you wear or buy?

9 Star Trek or Star Wars?

10 If you could recommend one thing to your readers (a book, a song, a dish a restaurant, whatevs), then what would it be?

11 What is the best advice that you ever got from anyone (be they real or fictional)?

3 Responses to “Liebster award”


  1. 1 Amanda February 17, 2013 at 8:15 am

    Oh I love reading everyone’s answers :), I am so curious ! I read a book by Scarlett Thomas (Bright Young Things) and it was not half bad, so I will take your recommendation as long with the others. (So many books to read).

    That’s such a cool story about the ladybug and the self-printed newspaper. Empty notebooks are the best ! And I loved watching Flipper.

    Also, is Alice (A very happy accident) still blogging? I have to email her, I read her last public post and then assumed only family / close friends were invited so I never really dared to ask her. I used to love her rambles / writing style.

    I am gonna answer some of your questions (because I’m an oversharer like that).

    1 What fantasy animal would you like as a pet and why?
    I think a unicorn. Or a mermaid. Or the combination of the two, a narwhal (but that’s not a fantasy animal). I think I would go with mermaid, the sea attracts me so much, it’s magical.

    2 What is your favourite fictional universe?
    I guess it would be Narnia. Or that place where the Elfs live in LOTR.

    3 If you could design your own body from scratch (no humanoid form is necessary), what would you look like?
    Mmmm I guess I would be a mermaid. Or a firefly, or a dragonfly. Or some kind of small wild cat like an ocelot.

    4 What is your favourite mode of transport?
    Hmmm I guess train… provided it’s not crammed as it often is, or late because I am so bad at waiting.

    5 Name a personal triumph that was totally insignificant in the larger scheme of things, but made you feel _so very good_.
    I succeeded at making macarons (with the italian-meringue technique) on the very first try.

    6 What is your most unrealistic fear?
    I don’t know, that I will still be able to feel / hear things after I die, like being buried alive or feeling something when / if I get cremated.

    7 What is your opinion about the possibility of artificial intelligence as a vital element in future human society?
    Hmmm as long as robots don’t start controlling us. That is, they should follow Isaac Asimov’s rules. I don’t know. I tend to like / prefer human contact. The boy jokes I’m an old lady because I like to go to the bank, make a line and talk to people (which does not happen anymore, at all).

    8 What kind of socks do you wear or buy?
    I normally buy colorful socks in 6-packs at the H&M. Otherwise I have socks with prints and patterns like lines, stars, flowers, dog paws, hearts… Those I used to find at Oysho or Women’s Secret in Spain, or my mom would get them at the market in Mexico.

    9 Star Trek or Star Wars?
    Star Wars I guess. But I have some fond memories of Star Trek. Then again, Ewoks 🙂

    10 If you could recommend one thing to your readers (a book, a song, a dish a restaurant, whatevs), then what would it be?
    Hmmm, a book. That would be Rayuela (Hopscotch) by Julio Cortazar. Or actually anything written by him.

    11 What is the best advice that you ever got from anyone (be they real or fictional)?
    Hmmm be authentic, no matter what people say. Go against the norms if you have to.

    • 2 thesmittenimmigrant February 19, 2013 at 2:38 pm

      Aw 🙂 So sweet that you answered my questions too!

      I don’t know if Alice still blogs – I can’t access her blog anymore, but I know she used to read mine and I’d love to read from her again.

      Do you think mermaids would be animals? I’d kind of assume they would be humanoid (and so not really pets). Personally I would totally want a hippogrif 🙂

      Thanks for the book recommendation, by the way! Those are always welcome.


Leave a Reply

