That was a long vacation from blogging

Much longer than I thought it had been. Things have happened, as they do, but I didn;t feel like writing in the moments I had time.

We received NOA1 on our visa petition and have learned which office handles it. Beloved sent in his grad school applications after several rounds of back-and-forth while I played editor. We’re awaiting further action by authorities on both counts.

As a a reward for all the hard work, we spent a few weeks in the American Southwest, which was amazing in all senses of the word. We had some of the best food we ever had (Lola’s Kitchen in Barstow, CA) and some of the worst (a Thai place in Flagstaff, AZ). We saw utter decadence (golf courses in the desert) and poverty to the level of kids in diapers in near-freezing temperatures and dead dogs left in ditches. Also, the Grand Canyon is officially big.

Last week I said my informal goodbyes at work. Next week I’ll go back for some drinks and a slightly more formal farewell. I have plans to volunteer at the local pet shelter and take some classes. Learn to program. See if I can find more volunteer work. Take long walks with my dad. Write some fiction. Cook more and better food.

There is no interest in our house as of yet. We hope to see some in the new year. If it remains quiet, we’ll see about renting it out, but we do hope to sell it.

We had our customary Orphan Christmas in two parts, this year. One raucous party night til 4 AM with way too much food, a lot of wine and Mario Party on the Wii. The other night was quiet, vegetarian and had an intense round of Illuminati. Another night was spent at my parents, with turkey and Phase 10.

This week, I hope to post some of the more interesting holiday pictures. If it takes longer, it’s because Beloved and I are spending a fair amount of our time off immersed in the universe of Skyrim. Also, if I get my way, we’re totally going to go to a zoo.

Hope you are all well and that we may meet again in 2013.

4 Responses to “That was a long vacation from blogging”


  1. 1 Amanda December 27, 2012 at 8:39 pm

    Zoo 🙂 You have to get your way, Also Teylers museum is really great (Harleem), That is a lot of good news, congrats, and way to go 🙂
    I am not making much sense. Willl have to come back and write something thoughtful and articulated.

    • 2 thesmittenimmigrant January 3, 2013 at 2:08 pm

      We made it to the zoo in Amersfoort, to which I hadn’t been in a long time. It’s quite a lovely zoo (and, I think, the only Dutch one where you’re allowed to bring your dog).

      What was the exhibition in the Teylers Museum that got you so excited?

  2. 4 Daria January 6, 2013 at 5:58 pm

    Happy to read some new blogs 🙂 Wish you guys all the best for 2013 ❤


Leave a Reply

