USCIS here we come!

Aaaaaah.. An exciting time has begun.

Beloved has returned from a trip and we’ve officially started gathering all the paperwork for the visa petition.
We sat down, grabbed the visa guide and started ticking off what we still needed and what we already had. We started out ahead since I already downloaded all the mentioned forms and filled out what I could. Beloved only needed to help me complete things.

All the forms are filled out aftre one evening’s work, with the exception of one date (to be confirmed tonight after a dive into my personal archives) and two birthplaces (answer has come in earlier today). We’ve sent the first requests for affidavits and have divided tasks about who contacts what authority for certain pieces of evidence. If all goes according to plan, we should have everything ready for filing the I-130 petition within the week.

I’d like to think that no small amount of being able to do all this so quickly, is me doing my homework. *gloat* *brag*

I look forward to compiling the file of ‘additional evidence’ of our marriage, especially. People we love will write about out relationship, we get to make a timeline with pictures and maybe plane tickets and.. well.. we get to prove our marriage is ‘bona fide’, a word with which am entangled in an inexplicable love affair, only enhanced by once watching the movie “O Brother, Where Art Thou?” which is brilliant.

Seriously, though, even if you thought this post was total blabber, you should really watch that movie.

4 Responses to “USCIS here we come!”


  1. 1 Theener October 11, 2012 at 3:35 am

    Absolutely one of my top 5 favorite movies. No question.

  2. 3 fadinggender October 12, 2012 at 3:40 pm

    So, how many yards of red tape do you expect to need to wrap that whole thing up? That’s a lot of paperwork they want.

    • 4 thesmittenimmigrant October 14, 2012 at 11:07 am

      I’ve heard people sending in files of up to 4 inches (about 10 cm) thick. No joke, these petitions.

      I’m going to publish the table of contents and the page count when I have everything in one file.


Leave a Reply

