One less thing

..to worry about. I won’t have to spend any more time having to avoid explanations for working some unusual hours  to schedule around job interviews. No more glossing over why I needed to work from home or needed to switch some work days around. Not having to walk somewhere out of earshot of my colleagues when the recruiter calls. No longer crossing my fingers when I answer my current colleagues when they ask ‘when are you emigrating again?’. Not starting at a new company knowing I already have a deadline for when I have to leave. Not having to not-tell-all-the-truth when someone asks about my ambitions. Not having to think about what this may mean for my resume and my career.

It means I did not get the job I was interviewing for. Obviously, I would have loved it if I got the job, but now that I know I don’t get it (after four interviews, an assessment and a resume/ cover letter combo, so I’m consoling myself with having been at least a serious candidate), I am also a little relieved.

Still, Google, I think we would’ve gotten along very well, you and I.

3 Responses to “One less thing”


  1. 1 Amanda June 9, 2012 at 11:57 am

    Oh I am sorry you didn’t get the job this time… I am sure you will find something exciting soon, whether here or in your new destination.

    • 2 thesmittenimmigrant June 10, 2012 at 11:50 am

      Thanks! I’m sure I will find something that it is interesting too, eventually. The biggest benefit from pursuing this job is that it made clear that people who I don’t know consider me an interesting and worthwhile candidate for serious responsibilities. It’s easy to lose track of something like that when you work at the same place for a long time, and possibly also when you’re underemployed and it is hard to find a job in your own field.

      • 3 Amanda June 10, 2012 at 5:40 pm

        Yes totally… I was once a serious candidate for the one job I really wanted, so it felt good to know that I was also (almost) a good fit for what they were looking.


Leave a Reply

