Alive and..

Can I just be honest and say I’m getting my ass kicked? You know, in case it wasn’t obvious from how little I post these days.

It’s the time of the year, which is always ridiculously busy (all of the year’s deadlines fall between May and July), but it’s also the particular project that I’m working on. I’d rather not talk about it too much, because thinking about the project makes my stomach clench and my heart sink and it also gives me a head ache and sore shoulders. The project is particularly Sisyphean in nature and I am not particularly mythologically equipped.

There is also plenty of good things going on. 92 episodes of Animal Cops (dubbed in Russian, but the English track is underneath and we’ve managed to turn the dubbing off) gives me regular doses of puppies and kittens and happy endings. I recommend this for everyone who is stressed and wanting to be able to sleep. We’ve planned out the trip for Beloved’s university scouting and also decided to take a holiday later this year. Three weekends have been booked for family travel. We’re still eating healthily and discovering new food because of it (seriously, dry roast some raw almonds and toss them in a garlicky pepper, sugarsnap and tofu stir fry. Serve with peas and onion with thai basil, made in some ghee). I had a difficult social engagement which ended up being great fun and before the appointment I cried and I was hugged tight by my husband and told it would all be fine. He told me that he is sometimes surprised because I find such a great many things scary, but that it’s okay because I then go out and do those things anyway. I’m a particularly brave scaredy-cat, apparently.

With that insight I leave you to go pursue some deadlines.

4 Responses to “Alive and..”


  1. 1 Alieke June 6, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    Good to know you are still alive! I hope to be seeing you and the beloved at a birthday celebration this weekend. It’s been ages since we talked. And I have to try out some of your healthy food suggestions, because they sound awesome.

    • 2 thesmittenimmigrant June 7, 2012 at 7:15 am

      It’s interesting how nice stir fry gets even without rice. I also notice I feel better when I eat less carbs. You’re sportier than I am, though, so I don;t know if it’ll work for you.

      See you on Saturday!

  2. 3 Amanda June 9, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    Good luck with all the deadlines. It’s busy at our office too, with the high season coming and people travelling already.
    The healthy food sounds delicious , I have an ongoing obsession with sugar snaps (just recently discovered them) and cashew nuts. (see I was gonna write noten, I keep mixing dutch with english recently). Also tomato with mozzarella and basil, a classic one, but oh so good .

    • 4 thesmittenimmigrant June 10, 2012 at 11:56 am

      Sugar snaps are great, aren’t they? I think they’re delightful in all kinds of dishes. And yes the combination of good ripe tomato, mozzarella and basil is irresistible.

      We’ve been cooking with lentils too, lately. The simplest recipe we’ve made is a very basic dal, which works well in accompanying meaty dishes or veggie mixes and can bring the heartiness to something that would otherwise be too light for a whole dinner.


Leave a Reply

