Just a small thing

.. but I’m rather proud of it anyway.

Beloved and I were taking a walk. We walked past two people locked in what looked like an (otherwise) normal, if somewhat passionate, lovers embrace. Except that when we walked by, I heard the smaller of the two say ‘Let me go. Please let me go. Please? Let me go. Let me go now.’

So I stopped dead in my tracks, waiting for the taller one to let the smaller one go. But that didn’t happen, and the smaller one kept asking to be released. I don’t think Beloved quite grasped what happened, so he was rather surprised when I stuck my hand in my bag, grabbed my phone and walked back to the couple.

“I’m sorry. But.. Do I need to call someone for you, maybe?”

I know. As far as opening sentences go it’s rather sucky (and perhaps not as de-escalating as I should have aimed for).

Interestingly enough, the taller one immediately behaved somewhat defensive. The first words our of their mouth were “Don’t think I’m abusing (smaller person)!”. The smaller person immediately started defending me to the taller person and defending the taller person to me. Explaining to me, that no, no, everything was fine, it was alright, and explaining to the taller person that no, no, my response was probably due to seeing other people being abused and my intentions were good and that I was in no way implying that they as a couple were abusive.

In the mean time taller person kept interrupting me and smaller person by stating that they only did what needed to happen, by stating that smaller person was way more aggressive than them, and by pointing out the scars on their forehead that (apparently) the smaller person had given to them.

I explained that I was really only checking if anyone needed help. When they both assured me that it was only a normal lovers’ quarrel, I wished them a good night and went on my way. I still don’t know what to think of their behaviour (or rather, I know bloody well what I think, but I can’t be sure, so there’s no ground for judgement), but I’m glad I stopped and interrupted them.

I’ve also decided that next time I should ask: “Can I help you?”, since that probably elicits a less aggressive response.

4 Responses to “Just a small thing”


  1. 1 walktx May 15, 2012 at 3:22 pm

    You were very brave to have interceded. I’m afraid that it only delayed the inevitable.

    • 2 thesmittenimmigrant May 24, 2012 at 8:12 am

      That’s certainly possible. On the other hand, if maybe I was able to sow a little seed of “hey, maybe this is not acceptable behavior”, it may benefit them later.

  2. 3 Theener May 20, 2012 at 12:46 am

    And yet at least it was delayed!

    • 4 thesmittenimmigrant May 24, 2012 at 8:15 am

      Right! I’m hoping they maybe cooled down a little and were able to reflect upon what happened.


Leave a Reply

