Excitement and distraction

I owe y’all a decent update.

However, there isn’t any immigration news and no big insights regarding the nature of marriage or my personal relationship with Beloved.

We did receive a late Christmas present, meaning that our dinner table is covered with 27 books. Some of them old, from Beloved’s American collection (Fun! We’ll be bringing those back in.. I don’t know.. A year?) The rest of them are used (or even new) books from Powell’s.

13 of these books are mine. I have thirteen new books! BOOKS! And they were a present! And they are mine! And they’ve already all been scanned and entered into our library software. They need to be read ASAP, obviously.

So, yeah. I may be quiet for a while longer. Sorry.

 

4 Responses to “Excitement and distraction”


  1. 1 Alieke May 9, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    I still have a book of yours at my place. It may nog even be entered into your library system

    • 2 thesmittenimmigrant May 10, 2012 at 7:28 am

      Heh. Mark Haddon’s The Curiouus Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime, right? That one hasn’t been scanned indeed.

      I also have Chuck Pahlaniuk’s Rant at a colleague’s which I still need to enter. And Charlotte Delbo’s Auschwitz and After, which I think my boss has (but I’m not sure.. *sad*) Oh, and I just replaced Kushiel’s Dart because someone we both know (and would rather not talk to anymore) borrowed it years ago and has never returned it.

  2. 3 Amanda May 10, 2012 at 7:08 am

    Wow you scan all your books, I am impressed. 13 new books to read how exciting.
    I never got to reply…. yet, but thanks for the book suggestions, some sound indeed interesting !

    • 4 thesmittenimmigrant May 10, 2012 at 7:25 am

      Heh, not scanning them page for page, though. Just run the bar code (if they have one, otherwise the ISBN gets entered manually) under a hand held bar code scanner and let the software find the entry online so as to get the right edition in the database. We can also indicate the owner, which is good.

      (Our database now contains 1101 books *brag*)


Leave a Reply

