I’m a writer

.. and I hadn’t really thought of myself like that before.

My official function title is editor, but my tasks are rather beyond those commonly associated with the trade. Not that I don’t do a lot of editing, but I also create content. That gets printed in books. And published online.

I’ve written about a quarter of a book for teaching my native tongue to people (intermediate level). I’ve created material for an ESL book (very basic level) I’m currently working in a team to create a social studies book from scratch. A previous social studies book also contains material that I wrote. I’m sure there are smaller projects I now forget, and I haven’t even mentioned the digital ones.

So far these contributions have only been acknowledged within the company, but I told my boss it’s about time they put my name on a book. In June of this year it will finally happen. Ha!

If I were a cat, this would be me right now.

Picture by Björn Hermans under a Creative Commons License.

4 Responses to “I’m a writer”


  1. 1 Amanda January 26, 2012 at 1:54 pm

    Awww that cat is so cute. And so content, and happy and with reason.
    Congratulations on having your name printed on a book yeah 🙂

  2. 2 thesmittenimmigrant January 26, 2012 at 8:54 pm

    Thanks 🙂 It’ll be such an accomplished feeling to hold this thing that has my name on it.

    (That’s how I found the cat – “accomplished” was my Flickr search term).

  3. 3 Björn Hermans March 2, 2012 at 9:11 am

    Hey, cool: you’ve used a picture that I’ve made of one of our 2 cats!

    And yes, Arnie can be very cute, especially when he’s snoozing like on this picture (http://www.flickr.com/photos/bhermans/3622162602/). However, he is known to be rather grumpy towards visitors (probably because they keep him from snoozing ;-).

    • 4 thesmittenimmigrant March 4, 2012 at 1:40 pm

      Arnie looks like an expert snoozer to me. Too bad that poorly trained human visitors will keep him from practising, right?

      It’s a lovely picture in any case, so thank you for putting it under a CC-license.


Leave a Reply

