Emptying the nest

Beloved and I share a big passion: throwing stuff out.

It regularly happens that a quick session of “picking up because the cleaner comes tomorrow” ends in a trash bag or two of stuff that we just don’t need anymore.

Throwing stuff out makes me feel all domestic too. It’s one of the things I really look forward about the move to the US – throwing stuff out and then..

..then finding a new, smaller apartment (no garden) and make it look good with as little stuff as possible. It makes me think I should start something that lets me work with more images, get a good idea of what kind of interior “design” decisions would work in American homes.

Hence, me requesting a Pinterest account on their website just now. In return, I may soon delete my G+, since it still has not properly taken off and I have no sense of purpose for it anyway.

Anyway, more on minimalism. I find that it often looks a bit like this or like this.

I feel I can create a minimalist style that a)is not so very angular, b) has vibrant colour and c) can house over a thousand books without becoming cluttered. I may yet become good friends with Ikea 🙂

5 Responses to “Emptying the nest”


  1. 1 Amanda January 26, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    Hey I still have pinterest invitations, let me know if you want one ! But normally they send you a new account quite fast.
    I also love color and books are my thing. Though I regularly give them away (with the exception of the ones I get emotionally attached too).
    My husband shares your throwing away passion… I tend to keep all kinds of scraps , but since we have very little storage we are limiting.
    And I think you will be friends with Ikea I am in love with their expedit series, you can put so much in there, and it is versatile in so many ways. I will look for a link to someone who rehacked it in a very cool way with a blackboard.

    • 2 thesmittenimmigrant January 26, 2012 at 8:59 pm

      You give books away? I am deeply, deeply impressed. That’s probably the one exception to our toss-out mania. I mean. They’re books.

      Wow 🙂

      I haven’t heard anything from Pinterest yet. I’ll give them a few more days. The one thing they showed that made me decide I love that site is this “thing” about making home offices inside of walk-in closets. That’s the best invention since sliced bread.

      Wel, maybe together with blackboard paint on furniture 🙂

  2. 3 Amanda January 27, 2012 at 8:37 am

    Yeah I know, but I believe books should be read, and they should recirculate, so I often send them to friends, or just leave them in trains, libraries… dentist office. Of course some books I do love and keep.
    I sent you an invitation to Pinterest so you can start right away, it is super addictive and, well, inspiring.
    And if you like blackboard paint , you will definitely love this, I think if you click on the links somewhere you get to a tutorial

    http://roost-home.blogspot.com/2011/10/expedit-with-twist.html

    A home office inside a walk in closet sounds super fun. I also want to build a reading corner somewhere. Well we kind of set the visitors room like that heh.

    • 4 thesmittenimmigrant January 27, 2012 at 10:08 am

      Are you into bookcrossing? I’ve dabbled in it, but it sounds just like what you’re doing.

      Many thanks for the Pinterest invitation, by the way. I signed up for it immediately and am feeling out the site. It looks like a fantastic way to introduce more image-thinking. I’m not sure if I’ll keep the Twitter account I needed to create in order to be allowed to sign up, but we’ll see about that 🙂

      Now I’m going to find your.. eh.. pinboard.. and look at your ideas for a reading corner.

      There is also magnetic paint you can paint on furniture (under blackboard paint, even) to make the surface (lightly) magnetic? If I were to make something like that Expedit (which looks good, by the way), I’d put that on too.

  3. 5 Amanda January 27, 2012 at 11:55 am

    I got the idea from bookcrossing, was already kind of doing it before. But I subscribed and found it too complicated (you have to print a tag, put it in the book, register a log, and then go back online) so I just either a). give them to people or b) at random put them in places where it is obvious they will be picked up.
    And yeah, it is a very visual place.
    Twitter I still do not get, I used facebook to sign in.
    Oh that is so nice magnetic paint !!!! And Expedit bookshelfs are the best, they have different ones and soo useful and pretty… you can even use them as a “wall” to divide a space into two, so many possibilities …


Leave a Reply

