I grok that..

NerdQuirks 153
(image from: www.nerdquirks.tumblr.com)

My most humorous pronunciation mistake has to so with these fellows:


(picture from Nathan LeClair under a Creative Commons license)

These common floral pretties left me pretty discombobulated. After being laughed at for a good while, I learned it’s actually “dandy lions”, and not dan-DEE-lee-uns.

Once you think of the little puffballs as a lion’s mane it makes sense, but it took me a good while before I could stop thinking about tophatted and monocled felines prancing and bowing at a tea party.

I also think there should be a rockband called The Dandy Lions. Just because..

4 Responses to “I grok that..”


  1. 1 Marijke January 6, 2012 at 2:24 pm

    The Dandy Lions is an awesome name!

  2. 3 Amanda January 9, 2012 at 6:31 pm

    Yeah, love the dandy lions for a band . By the way I also always said something like dandeeleeohns if that makes sense. Another word I cant pronnounce is platypus. Is it more like pla-tigh-pus or more like pla-tee-pus?Loved the nerd quirk post happens all the time!

  3. 4 thesmittenimmigrant January 12, 2012 at 3:12 pm

    I found just what we need 🙂

    http://www.forvo.com/word/platypus/

    My personal guess would be _plah_ teh puss


Leave a Reply

