By candle light and over coffee

IMG_8412
Kaarsjesnacht in Gouda – Photo by Jeroen Mul (WindwalkerNLD) under a Creative Commons License.

It had been a while, but I met up with a new “Internet person”, this week. I did it regularly as a teen, full of “well, whatever. if it doesn’t kill me, it’ll make me stronger and if it does kill me, at least I won’t be bothered by it..” I was pretty sure this internet person was not going to kill me, though. (Really, poppies and ice-cream, does that sound like the name of a serial killer’s blog? Didn’t think so.)

So, I traveled for a while and we met up in Gouda, the Netherlands. We had a good time. Also a windy and cold time, but a pretty time. We ended up in Gouda out of convenience, and at the celebration of Kaarsjesnacht because of the strong pull of curiosity. We had no idea that this was what was going on, but the whole town was in an uproar.

It’s an interesting thing to realize that this meeting had a different feel to it that any other “new person meeting” I’d ever gone to before. I mean, there was the one time I met up with a Russian girl who told me that she had been stalking me for a few months on different sites and was intrigued by the written tracks I was leaving on the internet, but it was different. Here, the reading of each others writing is at least mutual (whereas I had no idea that this girl even existed until I received a message from her). Also, while I was dating Beloved when I met her, just meeting her as me. I was very consciously, trying not to be anything else but me.

I was not, in part, meeting her as ‘wife’. The idea to consciously find people for a private social life these days seems odd. Because it’s virtually unlikely that anyone will ever be able to really get to know me, to really become a friend, without getting a decent dose of my husband as a bonus. It changes the getting to know someone in a way that I can’t put my finger on.

Or maybe it didn’t feel any different. Maybe it wasn’t different at all. Maybe I’ve just been asked ” So, how does it feel, being married?”  that I’m now frantically overanalyzing every single thing I do in order to find a satisfactory answer for the ever-inquisitive aquaintances? It’s a possibility, right? Heh.

Regardless, Amanda is a fun lady, so go take a look at her blog! She makes tasty things, too.

I’m off to laundry and bedsheets and groceries and cooking.. Good wifey – have a cookie!

0 Responses to “By candle light and over coffee”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

