More fail!

A “definitive response’  to my e-mail was sent to me on Friday afternoon. Needless to say, I am very pleased with the fast response times. The content of the response was less worthy of admiration, though.

In short, the message re-stated what I had told them, except it left out the bits where I explained their mistake of signing him up for the wrong exam and never inviting him for the second part of the wrong exam. It is rather comedic. The e-mail now reads as a standard instruction as opposed to a response to a complaint.

Due to the (conveniently, but unprofessionally) included forwarding-chain, I was able to see how many hands my e-mail went through, before ending up in the hands of someone who butchers our native language so badly that even this person’s permanent e-mail signature misspells the address of his office. And Beloved’s name. All the articles in the entire e-mail are missing or wrong. Proper sentence structure is blatantly ignored. As I am corresponding with someone who is (no less!) employed by the government office that ensures proper integration and language learning skills for immigrants, this is not acceptable. Public-facing government officials should be able to to write (relatively) flawlessly.

I have decided to keep a file of all the mistakes, misspellings and incorrect dates in letters and e-mails. Once the process is over and Beloved safely has his passport. I’ll work everything into a nice, lengthy, well-documented article. Then, I’ll see if I can get a national newspaper to print it. Let’s make some people aware of how “non-compliance regarding integration” is not always the fault of the immigrant.

2 Responses to “More fail!”


  1. 1 Lilith December 7, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    Yesyesyesyesyes, do it! 😀
    (mind if I follow your adventures?)


Leave a Reply

