Ha!

I just received a phone call from the employment/ integration agency. The e-mail has been forwarded to the appropriate department. I (happily) blame this quick response on my use of fanciful big words and complex sentence structures with way too many commas (for the regular readers: I know, I know, they’re my weak point).

The lady on the phone gave me the name of the department that will deal with my message: “the department for civil participation”. So, just imagine, you’re poorly educated and have come to this country because you happened to (be told to) marry someone who lives here. You do not speak the language very well and may even have limited literacy in your mother tongue. And this is the primary facility you have to interact with. Even the name of the department uses a word you’d need a college degree for, and then you’ve not even received a single letter yet.

Makes me think I should start a new career as a form-explaining, legalese-letter-writing advocate of the victims of bureaucracy. I could have a superhero uniform with the logo of a pair of scissors (for snipping away wildly at red tape). Heh. Hehehe. Heh!

5 Responses to “Ha!”


  1. 1 Amanda December 2, 2011 at 7:58 am

    Good for you. Sending angry , proper written, polite, in-your-face-letters is the key , because then, they are unable to send you a “template” back and the case finally goes to someone superior with criteria and ability to action. Here is hoping all will go well, swiftly and fast. Oh bureaucracy. Sending you energy and hopes and good luck.

  2. 2 thesmittenimmigrant December 4, 2011 at 10:54 am

    It’s so nice to read messages like this from you 🙂 I already got a (sort of) definitive response, so at least I set some gears in motion.

  3. 3 Alice December 4, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    In Argentina, that actually is a job… that is being a professional at doing paperwork and such for bureaucratic transactions. It’s mindnumbingly awful here. I once spent 6 hours and 700 pesos liberating a package of my own old clothing that my mama sent me at the customs lock- up at the airport. It was HELL. I had to go to like 900 different offices and pay them all money and I noticed all the other people around me were bureaucracy pros… that knew all the employees and how things worked and they had clip boards and multiple orders and such.

    • 4 thesmittenimmigrant December 5, 2011 at 9:00 am

      That sounds terrifying :S Six hours for a package. No wonder a class of professional paper-pusher-managers has developed.

      Where those 700 pesos actual costs of having the package sent, or was it elbow grease?

      • 5 Alice December 5, 2011 at 2:20 pm

        700 pesos in taxes and storage… It took me 3 days to pick the package up b/c there airport is a long ways outside of the city and I don’t drive and when I finally convinced the husband to drive me, there was a protest by the airplane cleaning people union and they blocked off access to the airport. I almost had a nervous breakdown over the whole ordeal and I’ve learned… that unless a package is full of bricks of gold, it’s not worth picking it up. Most of the time though, packages make it through to the international post office customs office in the city… this one got held up at the airport for some reason unknown to me. But lesson learned.


Leave a Reply

