People have started to ask

“does it feel different, being married?”

And I’m all like “I don’t know? Yet? Maybe later?”

It feels like I’m still coming down from the day. Still receiving congratulations and people being all excited towards me and expecting me to know what for without any further context.

I’m continuously amazed by how much people care. Never in my life have I done anything that has caused such an outpouring of love and support from people. It’s really rather magical. I’ll write more on me (maybe) feeling different at another time. So far, I have to say that mostly other people see us differently. It takes some getting used to.

3 Responses to “People have started to ask”


  1. 1 Alice December 1, 2011 at 4:09 pm

    9 months in… it still doesn’t feel much different. The only notable thing is how people treat you… especially new people. Because instead of being just you to them… they perceive you as married you. Which is kind of weird. It’s not a negative but just… different. In Argentina, people, normally men like doctors and sales people, defer to my husband instead of me sometimes now too.. it’s totally sexist but I kind of don’t mind. It’s like you deal with my problems, honey. It’s his damn country anyhow.

    And the one thing that felt different for me right after marriage was how weird the ring felt. I was so conscious of it at all times and that has gone away. Now sometimes I look down and am surprised to see the ring there. It’s like oh yes. That’s right. I am indeed married.

    P.S. Congrats! Doesn’t it feel great? I lived on a cloud of happiness for like 2 months just thinking about our wedding.

    • 2 thesmittenimmigrant December 1, 2011 at 9:11 pm

      Nice to read your perspective, and thanks for the congratulations!

      I read some stories on your blog about how people treat you, these days. A doctor that pats you on the head? Wow.. Awesome he recommended that you bring your mother over for a while, though. I’m sure you’ll both derive comfort from each other’s company.

      I’m still getting used to the ring too. I haven t worn a ring in years, so I;m still playing with it a lot. You’re right, though, it’s a fun reminder of the commitment we made.

      • 3 Alice December 4, 2011 at 1:40 pm

        Yeah. Some parts of the Latin American machista culture are awful and sometimes are nice. On one hand, they spoil women, on the other, they def. are little condescending. But I’ll take a doctor ordered mama visit any day!


Leave a Reply

