There! All done..

We’re weddinged! It all went splendidly. No axe-murdering or strangling. It was fantastic! Where to begin? What to tell?

MiL and FiL arrived on Tuesday. BiL and SiL and nephew arrived on Thursday, as well as our photographer Patrick Moran. I worked until Thursday evening in the hopes of keeping myself sane by having at least a few hours of non-wedding-worries a day. Thrusday night I was exhausted, but I still think it was a good idea. After work I had a quick meeting with all the assembled guests, as well as Beloved, before rushing off to the hair dresser.

They made me wait for 45 minutes. Planning mistake. I wish I had known, I could have used those minutes to have some food (and maybe another glass of wine, yeah?), but whatever. They eventually did my hair, and I went to my parental home. We sat and talked until 2 AM, after which I went to sleep.

Up at 8.15 the next day, shower, breakfast, and at 10.30 the make-up lady came. I tried to read a newspaper after she was done with me (but working on my mum and my brother’s girlfriend) and failed. At some point I got dressed. We had a little trouble finding out how to connect the lace blouse to the transparant bra-straps (to keep everything in place), but soon I was ready to have my picture taken by the makeup lady. It was the first time to wear the entire outfit at once (because of the many fittings I’d worn all the items before, but never all together). Very soon, the taxi came, and we piled way too many bags and umbrellas in the back and hoisted ourselves up on the benches.

As we approached the house of Beloved and me, I got a little tingly. Contrary to my expectations, Beloved jerked the door open as I approached. I thought he’d wait upstairs for a first look, but he’d explain later that due to some planning oversights with regards to everyone getting dressed, he’d been helping with setting things up until the very minute we arrived. Loads of hugs were exchanged between members of both families, followed by a flurry of drinks, nibbles, pictures and hat swapping (both me and Beloved wore hats, and they made for excellent photo props). We also did a brief couple shoot in our Master bedroom (and hopefully at least one or two of the pictures of us and our cat worked out .

(take a breath here, if you need one )

The next set of cabs arrived soon, and we all piled in to go to the observatory where we had time for coffee and tea. After that breather, the civil servant came out and started the ceremony. She was excellent. We had only briefly mentioned Thanksgiving to her, but she made it an important theme in the ceremony, focusing on the importance of family and togetherness. We had given her some pointers about what she could say as a gesture of gratitude towards our parents, and that all tied together very well. She then proceeded to talk about the importance of space and freedom in relationships, and she brought up the famous quote from Kahlil Gibran on marriage. That was especially lovely, since it was a text I had considered including, but felt it was a bit overused. That she, unfamiliar with American wedding readings, chose it for us anyway, was very touching. She also mentioned how fitting the location was for us, book loving sci-fi geeks, which everyone agreed on. Hehehe 🙂

Then, our vows. I could not resist but make a tiny little joke saying (instead of ” I take you”) “I choose you”  in Pokemon style before continuing in all seriousness. We then swore to abide by all spousal duties that the law requires and were pronounced man and wife. Kissssesssss! Rings followed, and then we signed the certificate, together with out witnesses. We were then congratulated and I could see my dad was still all choked up and teary. So sweet! It was a lovely moment to hug everyone there and have them all be my family.

We had another break then, with more coffee and tea and sweets. Our little nephew took a particular liking to the muffins, and ate at least two. Patrick used this time to take a lot of pictures of the library we were in. We also did some group pictures.

After everyone has settled down a little, my mum had a very lovely speech. She has the love letters we were asked to write, as well as a bottle of very nice cognac and a small wooden box with our initials and wedding date. She told us that marriage is not always easy, but that if we ever reach a real, real crisis, we should open the box and read the letters and feel what we were feeling when we wrote them. We would have the cognac to help us through the tough talks and to celebrate together after solving our differences (This is where both me and the Beloved  got a little choked up). She gave us each a nail and then we got a hammer and nailed the box shut. I think it’s lovely and hope we never need to open that box.

After this moment all the other things we had arranged were a lovely bonus. We got  brief tour of the observatory and (most awesomely) the sky had cleared and we were able to see Jupiter through the telescope. The telescope is old, but it showed us three of Jupiter’s largest moons, as well as two of the biggest red bands on the planet’s surface. It felt very special to have everybody stand in the dark, see the roof turn to the right angle, then see the telescope turn and try to find out what we were looking at. I think Patrick had fun shooting pictures at the location.

When the tour was over we went to the restaurant, checked in for our hotel room and met up with the baby sitter to hand off the little nephew, who was by then exhausted. We agreed with BiL and SiL that the baby sitter would call us if anything was up, and then went back down to enjoy dinner. The food was fantastic. There were several extra small courses, and the dishes we had picked were exquisite. FiL gave a really sweet toast, and my dad had a funny speech. The rest of the meal was mostly filled with people getting to know each other. It was really great to see everyone interact. So much love 🙂

As a conclusion: I’m glad we did it the way we did. We had just the right amount of guests (nine, counting nephew) and just the right activities and well. Nothing went wrong (although it didn’t go as planned – an important distinction) and it was all just very, very, very great.

Also, hotdamn, my man is even sexier with that piece of shiny around his finger 🙂 Can_Not_Resist!

Patrick said he hoped to have a preview of the pictures in a week, or so. I’m looking forward to that. You should too, since I plan to post a few.

3 Responses to “There! All done..”


  1. 1 Amanda November 27, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    Ohhh, I loved reading your story, thanks for sharing. Sounds like a day full of love and joy, and that is just too overwhelming to ever properly describe with words.
    The letters in a box is a really great idea. I also hope you will never need to open it though. I just told the boy about it and we are going to do the same… hope you don’t mind. We actually received a mexican wooden hand painted box with our names and date from my mom, only it was empty. (Well I have since filled it with all the cards we received).
    I love that you were married in a library ? observatory? and that you were able to see Jupiter. Kind of made me think of the movie Melancholia, but in a good way. I think whenever you see / think / hear / read about Jupiter you will be transported back to your wedding day and that is a magic memory.
    Congratulations to you both. And enjoy the adventure that is just starting now, always be joyful, and happy, and take care of each other.

    • 2 thesmittenimmigrant November 28, 2011 at 9:26 am

      It would be lovely if you and your man would also make yourself a marriage-crisis-first-aid-kit. My mom saw it elsewhere and decided to adopt it. I think she’ll be really happy to know that you love it so much. I think it’s great, anyway, and the hand painted box sounds like such a wonderful vessel to use for that purpose.

      The ceremony was in the library of the local (old) observatory. The facility is no longer in use for research, but it’s now a museum and the telescope still works, even though it’s 150 years old. The rest of the building is much older, about 450 years and it used to be part of the city’s defense. All in all, it was a very fitting location with lots of lovely metaphors ( a strong foundation, rooted in history, looking into space/ the future, filled with knowledge..) It’s also just a gorgeous, gorgeous place and I look forward to the pictures that show it off.

      Thank you for the congratulations and the well wishes!

      As to your comment below: I totally didn’t take it to mean anything negative 🙂

  2. 3 Amanda November 27, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    (Oh above I did not mean that you did not describe it properly, I mean that this emotions and the bigness of it all is just very difficult to capture , but you did )


Leave a Reply

