Things to be grateful for

Because.. you know.. balance.

– Beloved. Who is awesome. And adorable. And makes puppy noises when I wake him up before leaving for work.
– Outfit. Because it is a) mostly free b) stunning and c) actually bride-ish looking. d) purple boots and a massive royalty-type hat.
– My mom. Because when I ask her to help me, she will. She arranged a bouttonniere-type-thing (never even had to give an opinion: awesome) and a make up lady. She could’ve done more too, if I asked.
– my skin. Normally I’m rather prone to acne (up to the point of medical intervention), especially in times of stress. Right now, though, my skin is actually looking seriously good. Fingers crossed for no bouts of hormonal type breakouts.
– friends. For listening to me rant about things and for throwing me and Beloved an absolutely kick-ass Bachelor/ette party (more later).

2 Responses to “Things to be grateful for”


  1. 1 Amanda November 20, 2011 at 8:30 am

    Yeah, purple boots, you are so brave, and I am sure they will look super cool.
    Also, regarding the breakouts, I had the same. My face is oily and acne prone and I had the same concerns, but there must be some magic going on, because my face was unusually clean and smooth during the weeks that preceded and after the wedding. I did stop with coffee, tea and caffeinated drinks, because I read somewhere that caffeine interferes with the detoxification process in your liver, and by doing so, makes your skin prone to breakout. It worked. I also moisturized like crazy (with an oil free lotion), which was news to me, since because of my oily skin I always always hated cream, but it does help.
    And yeah, waking up with the one you love is priceless, those cuddling moments in the morning are the best.
    Oh you are almost there 🙂

  2. 2 thesmittenimmigrant November 21, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    Thank you for the tips, Amanda! I’ve had good results with my skin by going ‘no-poo’. Somehow, no matter what kind of shampoo I use, it just makes my skin act up. Since I started shaving my head, my skin has gotten so much better.

    And yeah, you’re so right about the morning cuddles 🙂

    Thanks for the support!


Leave a Reply

