The Knot

It lasted two days… My account, I mean. Between thinking “Well, they have so much, there must be something on there that I like..”  and “This is the 25th time I’ve wanted to throw my laptop against a wall.. I need to lose this site”. Two days after signing up for The Knot (and subsequently being bombarded with a to do list with approximately 400 items (of which 125 were red and featured little alarm clocks) before I e-mailed them to tell me to get my account erased.

I feel so very lucky that A Practical Wedding is the site I encountered first. I should thank the members of r/TwoXChromosomes on Reddit, because I’m pretty sure I got my first link through them. I’m now slowly getting myself used to Offbeat Bride – they seem larger, but I don’t think I like it as much. It’s more wedding, less marriage. Still, they too had a few good posts. It’s always good to read about: bisexuals getting married (to opposite-sex partners), international weddings and gender roles for those who do not follow them.

On Friday I’m going to call an international marriage law expert – we need help setting up a pre-nup, and I want someone who knows what (s)he is doing.

2 Responses to “The Knot”


  1. 1 Corrie Anne June 1, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    A Practical Wedding is totally the best. Good luck dealing with all the immigration stuff. I’ve watched a lot of my friends go through it when they married Dominicans, and I know it’s tough!! xoxo

    • 2 thesmittenimmigrant June 1, 2011 at 4:12 pm

      Thank you! It seems like the actual immigration to the U.S. may be the easy part. Making sure we can always return here is harder. Now I’ll go off and check out your blog, it looks like a good read 🙂


Leave a Reply

