Wedding planning

Since that’s what you do, right, when you get engaged?

I have found one blog that turns out to be an amazing resource. It has given me plenty of ideas, made me aware of things I didn’t even know I had to consider and has done a great job (I think) of preparing me for what is yet to come. A Practical Wedding, I am so very grateful for your existence (also, I will submit a wedding graduate post with you when all is vowed and done :)).

This is what we ‘have’  so far.

June 6: the beloved and I will request our marriage permit, hand over copies of passports of our witnesses and indicate a few things about our preferences (I hope). We have dealt with the municipality before – see here -, but this visit will hopefully be more festive. June 6 is also the our anniversary (2 years, woo!).

November 25: we get hitched! We will have a small ceremony with my parents, his parents, my brother (+gf?) and maybe beloved’s brother and wife, if they can make the trip. We picked the Thanksgiving weekend because flying to Europe is cheap and the transatlanteans have a couple of days to make the journey.

After the ceremony, we’ll have a guided tour through the rest of the building (we’re getting married in the library of our local space observatory) and if the sky is clear, we’ll even be able to do some staring into space through a telescope. Then, dinner, and probably not much else.

At some point, there will be a celebration. Well, two, really. One in the States, another one here. I am expressly forbidden to worry about the US side of things. Beloved saw me buy a notebook, starting to making lists and crossing out dates and put a stop to it. He has a point, he’s better connected and equipped to handle those affairs, especially since he’ll be able to call in his family for assistance (I’m pretty sure my mom-in-law will be delighted to help us out). I’ll just sit tight and hope I won’t have to cut cake, light unity candles, pour sand or do a daddy-daughter dance (when my dad probably won’t even be there :P)

On a non-wedding-y note, I’ve managed to find out that Beloved’s previously obtained language test resukts qualify him for naturalization, which is one less thing to worry about.

Now it’s back to readings, vows, rings and photographers, I guess.

0 Responses to “Wedding planning”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

